Categories
Uncategorized

Paying It Forward

Seven days ago, was the last day of my secondment at CCF @ Expo. I’ve never really expected anything like it going in. I was hesitant and a little bit scared. But for some odd reason, I was actually more excited.

Handling COVID-19 patients first hand can be quite daunting. Imagine taking charge of an entire hall, the size of a football field was crazy! To say that it is intimidating is an understatement. Each staff will assist, help, and empathize with the patient until they recover and get discharged only to admit new cases that came in by the hundreds during my first few weeks. It’s like, everytime you go to work, you’re on edge because, in the back of your mind, a question lingers – ‘Will I get it today?’.

Despite the lingering fear, allergic reactions to latex gloves, skin damage from frequent handwashing, and ill-fitting n95 masks, we made the most of our stint there. We played badminton and table tennis with patients, built makeshift beer pong tables (without the beer, of course lol), led daily exercises for them to stay active while on isolation, initiated group therapies that became venues for them to express their thoughts without reservations. And more importantly, we made new friends. The hardwork and camaraderie from everyone was astounding. After all, it is human nature to help in any way possible when someone is in need.

I must say, the past 7 weeks were really tough especially when Phase 2 rolled in and they started to allow friends and families to visit or go out and meet because I basically can’t join even when I’m allowed to (trying to be socially responsible here 😷)! But at the end of the day, this is just a little sacrifice I have to take. Because I know, in the grand scheme of things, I did my part. I think that’s what really matters.

Me going back to my job at the psychiatric institute means that cases are dwindling, and lesser manpower is needed to run the community facilities. But it doesn’t mean that the fight against Covid-19 ends there. Please continue to do your part in being responsible. Always practice good hygiene by washing your hands frequently, adhering to safe distancing, and wearing your mask while outside.

I had my first swab test last Friday before I can go back to my ward and another one after 14 days. Until then, I will continue my self-isolation until I get the all clear. 🙂

By The Connoisseur

Nurse by profession, foodie by heart. Aloof by nature but a wanderer in out. Nothing beats lazing at home with a good book to read and whip something out of the kitchen afterwards. I'm a walking complexity. I like spontaneity. Travel is a privilege and indulgence. Savour it. Food is a passion. Enjoy it. Believes in the saying, 'Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today.' Life's too short, make the most out of it.

Leave a comment